Making Wedding Favors And I Need Help, Please.

Baking By mrsc808 Updated 4 Nov 2009 , 3:35pm by luv2bake6

mrsc808 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsc808 Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 3:10am
post #1 of 6

I'm sure this must have been covered a thousand times but I am making the favors for a friend's wedding in March and they will need to travel with me on a 20 minute flight. I'm doing 400 sugar cookies in a wedding cake shape and I am wondering how much lead time do you think I will need?

The design is pretty basic, I think (of course I am totally new at this, too) just a white RI, trim, and flowers. I plan on doing a lot of practicing but I'm wondering what the best plan is. Should I bake everything that week? Bake, decorate and freeze? Bake and freeze then decorate later? How long will the cookies last once decorated? I'm using an impulse sealer for them - will that extend the life? How do I pack everything for the flight? I didn't even think about that yet.

I'm sorry if these are a lot of questions but this friend did a lot for my wedding and she's one of my husband's best friends and I really want this to turn out right for her since this is also my wedding gift (even though she doesn't know that part yet.)

TIA!!

5 replies
luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 4:07pm
post #2 of 6

You can for sure bake the cookies ahead of time and freeze them. I've done that and they tasted great.
I've not frozen iced cookies but many here have with great results.
Since you still have time, you may want to do a trial run. Make the cookies in different stages and then freeze them (plain, iced, decorated). Give them about a week or two and then take them out to thaw. You'll see what results will be and can plan from there.