If You Were New And Could Spend $100 On Anything What Would

Decorating By tatechloeandlucysmom Updated 9 Nov 2009 , 2:02pm by SGTSweetsCakery

tatechloeandlucysmom Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:31am
post #1 of 16

Hi there! I've made about 4 or 5 cakes now and have never taken a class or seen a dvd or book. I have some Wilton cake pans, but read about another kind on here months ago that seemed "better". I think this is something I'd like to learn well enough to take a little more seriously in time. So.... if you were new and could spend $100 on anything, what would you suggest?

15 replies
Doug Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:40am
post #2 of 16

magic line pans in round and square --

6, 8, 10, 12, 14 inch (as many as that $100) would buy.

----

the pans are the first tool that can have the greatest impact on the final product in terms of quality and ease of decorating.

Rylan Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:48am
post #3 of 16

I would go with flower cutters--but that is only me since I'm new to that area.

Texas_Rose Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 12:53am
post #4 of 16

Do you do fondant cakes? Because there are tons of neat gadgets to use with fondant...

I've been using Wilton pans for years and it hasn't killed me yet icon_biggrin.gif So I think I would spend the $100 on something that I didn't already have. Personally for that $100 I would get a cheap airbrush, but I already have tons of cake junk so my answer is probably different than yours would be.

tatechloeandlucysmom Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 1:04am
post #5 of 16

Thank you, ALL OF YOU, so much for your wisdom! I love all of the different answers, it helps create a wish list! (and thank you, I never know how to post the right way! lol) I can't ice a cake to save my life, but I seem to be learning about MMF pretty easily and LOVE to work with it. icon_smile.gif PLEASE, KEEP THE ANSWERS COMING! icon_smile.gif

Kims_cakes Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 1:17am
post #6 of 16