Anyone Else Having Trouble With Candy Melts Seizing?

Sugar Work By Phyllis52 Updated 4 Feb 2014 , 10:42pm by SweetShop5

Phyllis52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Phyllis52 Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 9:13pm
post #1 of 32

For years I've been using the Wilton Candy Melts for a few years now for the cake balls and never had a problem. I would add a little shortening and it would be great to dunk in. For the past 2 or 3 times it would get to like a thinner frosting stage and then seize up. No water dropped in, everything was dry.....I haven't the faintest idea what it could be. I haven't done anything different.

I'm really confused with this.. icon_eek.gif

31 replies
DianeLM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DianeLM Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 9:29pm
post #2 of 32

Is it with the same batch of melts? You may have picked up a bad/old bag of candy.

Do you melt in the microwave or over a double boiler? Maybe your micro is acting up and overheating them.

That's all I got. icon_smile.gif

Phyllis52 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Phyllis52 Posted 1 Nov 2009 , 12:13pm
post #3 of 32

I have the Wilton chocolate melter and I've also microwaved them, I've used a new bag each time. Maybe I should use a double boiler.

I bought the Mercken's chocolate and will try that.

I just don't understand it, for years I've had no problem......
It's not hard, just melt the chocolate, add some shortening and dip. Sheesh....

Thanks for your help.

grandmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmom Posted 1 Nov 2009 , 4:31pm
post #4 of 32

Did you microwave on high perhaps? I think the bag says to microwave on 50% or something like that. Just a thought...

Melchas Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Melchas Posted 1 Nov 2009 , 4:46pm
post #5 of 32

I had that same problem recently. I put mine in the microwave and if it was one second too long, it would seize. I finally decided to use a double broiler.

korensmommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
korensmommy Posted 1 Nov 2009 , 4:50pm