What's The Difference Between Pearl Dust And Luster Dust?

Decorating By kjskid Updated 4 Nov 2009 , 5:32pm by autigger57

kjskid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjskid Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 7:44pm
post #1 of 11

I'm making a cake that will have gold or bronze accents on it, and I'm wondering what the difference is between pearl dust and luster dust? I've seen pearl dust at the store, but I don't think I've seen luster dust. And how do you use either one? I've never used either before.
Thanks!

10 replies
Wiltonlady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Wiltonlady Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 8:29pm
post #2 of 11

I can't find a difference in them. Maybe pearl dust is more opalescent then the luster dust but, no difference.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 8:43pm
post #3 of 11

I really don't know. In my mind, pearl dust is a "pearl" color luster dust.

ApplegumKitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ApplegumKitchen Posted 31 Oct 2009 , 9:18pm
post #4 of 11

Not sure what brands you are using but I have both here - the PEARL dust is actually white/cream with a HINT of colour ..... so VIOLET PEARL only goes on white and in different lights you see a spark of violet

Where VIOLET LUSTRE DUST makes the whole thing a pale LUSTRE..ERY violet colour

Renaejrk Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Renaejrk Posted 1 Nov 2009 , 12:05am
post #5 of 11

Luster dust is more metallic and has bolder color, pearl dust is just what it sounds like, a hint of color and a pearlized finish.

kjskid Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjskid Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 2:57pm
post #6 of 11

Are they both edible? I'm specifically looking at metallic colors -- gold/bronze/copper.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 4:30pm
post #7 of 11

They are usually non toxic. If you want something that is FDA approved. Check out the Crystal Colors brand. Sugar Art also sells FDA approved ones but only for petal dusts.