Using The Silcone Molds

Decorating By Jackie_PatriotsFan Updated 30 Oct 2009 , 5:57pm by tonedna

Jackie_PatriotsFan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jackie_PatriotsFan Posted 29 Oct 2009 , 7:44pm
post #1 of 6

I am new to cakes and am confused when I look on the various cake decorating supply sites regarding the molds. Some are more expensive than others. Does the fondant or gum paste come out of these molds easily? What should I be looking for in a good mold?

Sorry if this is a repeat question.

Jackie

5 replies
ApplegumKitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ApplegumKitchen Posted 29 Oct 2009 , 8:21pm
post #2 of 6

Oh most definately - MOULDS aint MOULDS

and SILCONE is not all SILCONE - good and bad out there!

For the record - I think my preference in moulds (based on what I have used) would be

1. FIRST IMPRESSIONS www.firstimpressionmolds.com - blue and VERY easy to use - don't dust mold or grease - just pop into fridge and leave for a bit - pops out every time - GREAT detail

2. FPC sugarcraft - www.fpcsc.co.uk WHITE and also very easy to use

3. For price, I would also suggest looking at the Sculpy moulds - used for polymer clay - I spray with oil before pressing in paste - they most often have a number of different cavities on the one mould.

Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 29 Oct 2009 , 11:11pm
post #3 of 6

I suggest you check out silicone molds because they are flexible. They are easy to work with if done right, I was taught to get a ball of gumpaste and lightly dust it with cornstarch and then insert it to the molds. It's really easy.

ApplegumKitchen Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ApplegumKitchen Posted 30 Oct 2009 , 1:07am
post #4 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApplegumKitchen

Oh most definately - MOULDS aint MOULDS

and SILCONE is not all SILCONE - good and bad out there!

For the record - I think my preference in moulds (based on what I have used) would be