Equipment Help!

Business By shannonstar Updated 29 Oct 2009 , 6:10pm by shannonstar

shannonstar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
shannonstar Posted 29 Oct 2009 , 3:32am
post #1 of 6

Hello guys! I have watching these forums for a while and this is my first post!! Now that you know that...

I am opening a bakery and am stressed about equipment (I am self taught and never worked in a bakery before). I honestly wish someone could just tell me what to do but I know this is a learning exerience for me and I will be better off in the long run. I NEED to know what is best to start out with when it comes to: ovens, fridges, mixer, is it worth purchasing a fondant sheeter? Do I need a refrigerated display or can I get away with a counter?

I have a large volume of cakes that I produce currently and being that I can't legally sell items from my home (and no one makes cakes like mine in the surrounding cities) I am opening a bakery. But researchig all the equipment brands and sizes has left me indimidated and tired.

I will be selling many cupcakes cookies and desserts in addition to my custom cakes.

Is new equipment better then used? What about warranties?

If anyone has anything they can offer me I would LOVE it! Tell me what you use and what you love. Or maybe what you wish you did different. Thanks bunches in advance!

5 replies
froglover Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
froglover Posted 29 Oct 2009 , 4:06am
post #2 of 6

first i want to say congrats and good luck.
Next let me say that we have had a shop open for 1 yr this month only working part time (we all 3 have full time jobs) so we are only open 2 hrs a day 5 days a week and we have not taken out a loan yet by doing the things listed below. BTW our prices only start at 1.50 for birthday cakes and 2.50 for wedding bc or fondant which is common in our area.