What Tip Would I Use To Make This Border?

Decorating By korensmommy Updated 29 Oct 2009 , 1:24pm by lilthorner

korensmommy Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:10am
post #1 of 25

A friend sent me this cake photo and I just love the border on the bottom of the 6" cake!

I know how to do the white border, but what tip would I use to make the pink border?

Thanks!
LL

24 replies
tenleysmommy Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:13am
post #2 of 25

It looks like a rose tip maybe?I have never made a ruffle border so I am not 100% sure.

KitchenKat Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:16am
post #3 of 25

104 petal tip. Put the fat side on the cake at about 45 degrees. Pipe as though you were making a petal flat against the cake's surface. Sorry I'm not good with describing the process.

jlynnw Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:16am
post #4 of 25

rose tip.

vlk Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:18am
post #5 of 25

I will take "Which Tip for $1000" Alex....

Looks like a Rose tip, maybe #125 (large) I've done this making hydrandea's on cupcakes.

HTH

Vicki

cylstrial Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 12:46am
post #6 of 25

It's a cute cake! I like the horse! And I think you could make it with a regular 104, although a bigger tip would be easier.

korensmommy Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 2:15am
post #7 of 25

Thanks everyone!
I think I will splurge and buy a larger rose tip since I'm bored with my current borders and love this one.
Thanks KitchenKat for the instructions too.

Cristi-Tutty Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 2:32am
post #8 of 25

This is so beautiful

korensmommy Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 2:36am
post #9 of 25

I know! I wish I knew who created this cake. Look at the handwriting on the fondant banner, it's beautiful!

ninatat Posted 28 Oct 2009 , 2:38am
post #10 of 25

you need to use tip 21 shell border for under the ruffle, i use the large rose tip, it takes some practice i think wilton has it on their site, i haven't gotten the pressure right but getting better, looks easy but is really not. that's why i practice alot