I Want To Buy A Bakery

Business By janjensen67 Updated 27 Oct 2009 , 11:39pm by cabecakes

janjensen67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janjensen67 Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 3:31am
post #1 of 6

I want to buy a bakery in my Wisconsin town. I am a hobby baker. Where do I begin? Do I need to take some classes? Where do I find out about regulations and licensing? I have no clue where to begin.
Thanks so much.

5 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 3:44am
post #2 of 6

Oh boy.

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 4:02am
post #3 of 6

Here you go:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-358713.html

I'd recommend sitting down with a cup/glass of your favorite beverage because it's a LONG read. icon_smile.gif

HTH

cookie_fun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookie_fun Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 4:12am
post #4 of 6

janjensen67~

Welcome to CC! Your question is a difficult one because each state, heck each county can vary. There are just too many variables for an easy answer. The best place to start would be your health department. For my county I was able to find out lots of information their online site.

Good luck in your endeavor, and enjoy the CC site. You will quickly become addicted!

janjensen67 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
janjensen67 Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 6:34pm
post #5 of 6

Thank you guys so much. The bakery I am interested in isn't even for sale. Wanted to start laying my ground work before it does come up for sale so I will be able to buy it. (the bakers are not very good, nor dependable so its just a matter of time before they fail.)
Just a little more info. from me. The bakery I am interested in was for sale 2 years ago for 58K.