Impression Mat And Gumpaste

Decorating By Princessxx182 Updated 26 Oct 2009 , 3:00pm by proudmommaof3

Princessxx182 Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 1:54am
post #1 of 7

Hello! I'm fairly new to cakeing and have a couple questions...first one is when it comes to making decorations what is the difference (benefits/negatives) between straight gumpaste or a 50/50 gumpaste and fondant combo? and secondly I want to get a criss cross pattern on a round buttercream iced cake I see that you can use an impression mat my question is where do I get one of these and do they wrap all the way around the cake or do you have to line it up and how difficult is this? Thanks so much in advance.

Paige icon_biggrin.gif

6 replies
ginger6361 Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 2:36am
post #2 of 7

I have been wanting to ask the same question! Thank you! I look forward to see the replys.

Jeff_Arnett Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 3:18am
post #3 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Princessxx182

Hello! I'm fairly new to cakeing and have a couple questions...first one is when it comes to making decorations what is the difference (benefits/negatives) between straight gumpaste or a 50/50 gumpaste and fondant combo? and secondly I want to get a criss cross pattern on a round buttercream iced cake I see that you can use an my question is where do I get one of these and do they wrap all the way around the cake or do you have to line it up and how difficult is this? Thanks so much in advance.

Paige icon_biggrin.gif

As to 50-50 or pure GP, depends on what you are making....flowers with thin petals that must hold their shape are best from pure GP....decorations that are on the tops or sides of the cake or molded figures do fine in 50-50.