A Little Reassurance From Legal Virginia Home Bakers Please!

Business By MJoycake Updated 26 Oct 2009 , 3:43pm by IsaSW

MJoycake Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 12:27am
post #1 of 11

Hi All,

I'm in the process of doing all of the paperwork to get legal in VA as an at home baker. The process and paperwork seem to be more in the realm of larger bakeries/catering facilities far above and beyond a few custom cakes!

Can anyone who's been through the process recently give me some reassurance that it will all go smoothly, given everything is in order? I'm just feeling overwhelmed at the moment and would love a "yes, it was a PITA, but once the paperwork was done, the rest was easy peasy!" answer - lol!

Indulge me, someone??!!

10 replies
Butterfly0813 Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 1:16am
post #2 of 11

Hello, I am also new to the process. I notice your post is dated 2008 and I am wondering how it all went? I also live in Virginia.
Thanks .

costumeczar Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 1:11pm
post #3 of 11

The beginning is the most work, but after all the paperwork is turned in it's easy. The DOH has helpful inspectors, they really do try to answer your questions and give you advice, so just push past the paperwork part of it and it will be a lot easier.

IsaSW Posted 24 Oct 2009 , 9:53pm
post #4 of 11

Just take it easy, one step at a time.
I am in Virginia, got my kitchen inspected in july. It went smooth, they are more concern on the process, how will you be cooking, do you have separate containers for your sugar and flower for example?.
Yes, you are right a lot of paper work, but at the end its so worth it!

When the inspector said to me, ok, you can start baking! I got so excited I jump in the computer and told all my cake buddies.

Good luck!

Butterfly0813 Posted 25 Oct 2009 , 4:37pm
post #5 of 11