Culinary School

Business By elizacake Updated 15 Nov 2009 , 2:48pm by bea30

elizacake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elizacake Posted 23 Oct 2009 , 11:22pm
post #1 of 12

To go or not to go...that is the question...
Ok...so I perused through topics for awhile until my eyes hurt, so I'll just go ahead and ask.
I am a mostly self taught at home baker who would like to take the plunge into the world of small business. (Right now I'm an accounting manager...and desperately want out.) I've been doing cake off and on for roughly 20 yrs...cake decorating was one of my favorite 4-H projects. I only do a few big cakes a year for friends and family right now and while I'm a decent home baker...I would love to open my own shop if I can get my outcomes to be more professional. (Yes, I know practice makes perfect...but I work too long hours at my current job.)
How many of you out there went to or would recommend going to culinary school? There is a culinary school close by that has a baking/pastry program. I'm going to go check it out on Monday. icon_smile.gif This will be a fact finding mission, as my dh and I have yet to decide whether or not we could financially make it work.
Pro's that I can think of right off the bat would be food saftey knowledge and learning new tips and tricks about candy, chocolate, and pastry...currently of which I don't have much knowledge. Was thinking it might also look good to the bank when it comes time for acquiring a loan.
Any thoughts? I would love to turn my passion into a happier way to provide for my family. I do know and understand the stresses of owning/running your own business. I just know that no matter how stressed I have gotten with a cake...It's nowhere near the stress of what I do now.
Thanks for reading!

11 replies
costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 23 Oct 2009 , 11:46pm
post #2 of 12