Decorating By bubblez Updated 22 Oct 2009 , 5:35am by bubblez

bubblez Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 4:32am
post #1 of 11

I am new at this and need lots of help. lol

Someone asked me if I could make them a strawberry short cake, but they would like it to be covered in fondant. I have tried once but the whip in the layers dissolved or melted into the cake. I don't know if this is a dumb question because I only started making cakes a couple of weeks ago. Please help me.

10 replies
prterrell Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 4:37am
post #2 of 11

Strawberry shortcake covered in fondant? My response would be, sorry that's not physically possible.

My strawberry shortcake is yellow butter cake filled with strawberries and iced in whipped cream. If they wanted fondant, then they could have the cake and filling, but the undercoat for the fondant would be buttercream. To me, that's no longer strawberry shortcake, but just a strawberry filled cake.

MnSnow Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 4:39am
post #3 of 11

Is it strawberry shrtcake you eat or strawberry shortcake design like for kids?

Texas_Rose Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 4:44am
post #4 of 11

You can't cover whipped cream in fondant, it's too wet and like you noticed, the whipped cream will melt into the cake after a while.

They'll probably have to pick, either a strawberry shortcake, or a fondant-covered cake.

patticakesnc Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 5:01am
post #5 of 11

Unless they are willing to sub the whipped cream for buttercream its a no can do. I have had customers agree to take buttercream and I did a nice fresh strawberry filling.

bubblez Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 5:05am
post #6 of 11

It is a strawberry short cake you eat, not the cartoon.

I thought I was crazy because I couldn't make it work. lol
How about stabilized whipped cream? Will that hold up under fondant?
Or should I just use butter cream and strawberries in the layers?

bubblez Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 5:08am
post #7 of 11