Christmas Cake Cupcakes?

Baking By JFcakes Updated 22 Oct 2009 , 2:16pm by delisa01

JFcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JFcakes Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 2:13am
post #1 of 9

Hi all, I'm new to he forums and this is my first post icon_biggrin.gif

I have an idea that I want to put into action, and was hoping for a little advice.

Firstly my idea:

I'm going to be making approximately 30 square cupcakes that are about 5cm square, and they will be fruit cakes (like miniature Christmas fruit cakes). They will all be decorated individually, and then placed on a cupcake tiered stand. It's going to be a little Christmas gift for my husbands work colleagues.

Now, what is the best way to bake the cakes first of all? Would it be better to buy the 5cm squared tins, or should I make 1 30cm squared fruit cake and cut it appropriately? Some of the 5cm tins I've seen are in excess of £100 for 36 icon_surprised.gif so I'm wondering if the 30cm option will work for obvious reasons.

Also where can I get paper cases that are shallow and square?

I'll try and make this into a little Christmas cupcake diary if I can, with pictures (I'm also a photographer icon_smile.gif) and ... well a diary icon_biggrin.gificon_lol.gif

Thanks in advance for any replies! xx

8 replies
tatorchip Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tatorchip Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 7:21am
post #2 of 9

Welcome to cc, feel free to jump right in, lots of nice and caring people here and soooooooo much talent and you will get all the help you want.
Feel free to pm me anytime and if I can't help you I will find someone who can.

I made square cupcakes using a square cupcake pan but I used round cupcake liners. Mine came out square, just push them in and pour in your batter.
You could also make a sheet cake and cut to size. Then you could maybe use brownie liners. HTH
This is the photo of my cupcakes
LL

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 22 Oct 2009 , 8:00am
post #3 of 9