Beginner Classes Or Books??? Where??

Decorating By ToniLee Updated 22 Oct 2009 , 2:02am by ToniLee

ToniLee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ToniLee Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 3:21am
post #1 of 9

I have just recently started baking/decorating cakes myself and I have to say its such a great art!!! There are so many mediums within cake decorating, Im so excited to find somthing that I love so much!!!

Where can I take classes or what are some good books to get to learn??

Is it worth taking the Wilton classes that are at the Wilton school in the midwest?

Im looking for more professional detailed classes than the classes at Micheals etc.

8 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 3:46am
post #2 of 9

I am almost completely self-taught. The only training I've had is when I worked at Publix being trained on how to do certain things their way. CC is a great resource. There are also a lot of great tutorials on YouTube. Tonedna's are especially good. If you want to purchase videos, many CCers highly recommend Sugarshack's videos.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 21 Oct 2009 , 3:47am
post #3 of 9

If you haven't taken the Wilton classes at Michaels, that might not be a bad place to start...you might learn something you don't know already, and you could find out if you learn better from a class or from books, before you invest in the more expensive classes.

You should see if there's a cake club in your area and what kind of stuff they offer.