I Need Help Now

Decorating By laurs_1981 Updated 18 Oct 2009 , 11:48pm by laurs_1981

laurs_1981 Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 3:52am
post #1 of 13

OMG...i'm literally in tears....i making a cake for tomorrow and my MMF keeps cracking and tearing every time i put it on....i keep re-rolling, but it's getting dryer and dryer or something.....i dont' have time to make a new batch and i'm so disappointed....i've been planning this cake for ages....i'm still new at this and i don't know what to do...and now my cake "inards" are starting to seep out cause my crumb coat is falling off....all the stores are closed so i can't even go buy ingredients to make more....i'm so frustrated!!

12 replies
jammjenks Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 4:03am
post #2 of 13

Knead in Crisco and see if that helps. Microwaving it for about 8 secs helps it to be more plyable too.

Kandy4283 Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 4:11am
post #3 of 13

I cannot help with the MMF part of it....I have attempted it and it has failed everytime for me, I am sorry! But I can tell you that I have been in tears several times over cakes and my advice to you is to step away for awhile, take a break, do something else for awhile and then go back to it! Good Luck! It will all turn out in the end!!!! Stay strong!

Kitagrl Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 4:11am
post #4 of 13

I'd put on another coat of buttercream and then refrigerate to firm up while you try to soften up the fondant...then try again.

Lenette Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 4:12am
post #5 of 13

Sorry, I don't know any other suggestions besides those in the previous post. I just wanted to send you a big hug! I've been there.

Hope it all works out in the end! icon_smile.gif

DetailsByDawn Posted 18 Oct 2009 , 6:27am
post #6 of 13