Please Help...double Layer Cake?

Decorating By Bella214 Updated 16 Oct 2009 , 12:42pm by indydebi

Bella214 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bella214 Posted 16 Oct 2009 , 1:35am
post #1 of 9

I am using Wilton's Blues Clues pan (stock #2105-3060) for my sons second birthday. I am just using it as a template because I am changing the colors to turn "Blue" into My Pal Scout (by Leapfrog) because that is my son's favorite character.

However, it says use a double layer cake recipe. Does that mean I am making two separate cakes, or both cake batters go into the pan together? Ugh, I hate to ask something that probably sounds dumb lol, but I have never used a pan like this before, I shape all my cakes myself typically.

I am almost sure it all goes into the pan at once, but I need to make sure. According to Wiltons website it says "Make one 2-layer cake mix according to package or recipe directions. Pour the cake batter into pan, and if necessary, spread the batter around with a spatula to fill all areas of the pan evenly. Be careful not to touch sides or bottom of pan. Bake cake on middle rack of 350OF oven for 30-40 minutes or until cake tests done according to recipe directions."

8 replies
Deb_ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Deb_ Posted 16 Oct 2009 , 1:43am
post #2 of 9

Yup it all goes into the pan at once.

Bella214 Posted 16 Oct 2009 , 1:47am
post #3 of 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkelly

Yup it all goes into the pan at once.

Thanks so much! Now to see how it turns out! Wish me luck! I never use pans like this!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 16 Oct 2009 , 1:47am
post #4 of 9

A cake mix you buy in the grocery is referred to as a 2-layer cake mix (or a double layer cake mix) because when using 8" or 9" pans (the standard pan used by housewives when baking a cake for their family), it makes 2 of these cakes ..... a.k.a. a 2-layer cake.