Newbie Cookie Decorator...help!!!

Baking By ktbug Updated 15 Oct 2009 , 5:28pm by KHalstead

ktbug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ktbug Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 8:08pm
post #1 of 9

This is my first time decorating cookies and i have all kind of questions...

1. What is the best icing to use? I want something on the softer side.

2. I want the neat clean outlined look. How do i get it? Do I outline with a piping bag? And then how do I fill the inside?

PLEASE HELP!

8 replies
luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 8:15pm
post #2 of 9

If you want a softer icing, you can use Toba's glace. I prefer RI because i feel i can control it better.

As far as outlining, you can use either icing. Some like to outline with a thicker consistency and then flood (fill in) with a thinner consistency. I use one consistency; when i dip a spoon into the icing and it takes 5-7 seconds to flatten out, it's ready.

andpotts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 15 Oct 2009 , 5:10am
post #3 of 9

Welcome to a new addiction!! No kidding once I crossed over to the dark side and learned some tricks and recipies for decorated cookies for the awesome artist here, there was no turning back! I could go on and on with stuff, but since you only asked 2 questions I will try to stick to answering those icon_smile.gif

1. What is the best icing to use? I want something on the softer side.

I use Toba's Glace, it is yummy, dries to a nice finish, is soft when you bite it, but sturdy enough for stacking and bagging. Few tricks to it though, it's really easy to make, but I always add at least 20 drops of white coloring to it before seperating it out for other colors and let the cookies dry in a not too cool environment.

2. I want the neat clean outlined look. How do i get it? Do I outline with a piping bag? And then how do I fill the inside?