Made Mmf...more Questions

Decorating By Pickulz Updated 16 Oct 2009 , 12:43am by chouxchoux

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 12:22pm
post #1 of 15

So I made MMF...but didnt need to use the 2lbs powdered sugar it had called for. Did I do something wrong? It became a tight dough and came together with only half that amount of powdered sugar. IT looks fine to me, but its my first time, so I really wouldnt know.

Also, I need to colour the fondant. Should I let it rest or color it now? And I dont need to put it on the cake, but rather im making some rectangle shapes (to resemble buildings and attaching small fondant cutouts on it), how should i attach fondant to fondant?

14 replies
Pickulz Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 12:24pm
post #2 of 15

I just read online that I can attach it just with a dab of water...that seems simple!

rltmeng Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rltmeng Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 1:00pm
post #3 of 15

Hi Pickulz, You may not need the entire 2 lbs of sugar, you should know once you are rolling it out. I made it once and I guess I did not have enough sugar, the fondant turned out too soft so when I tried to pick it up, it would just stretch out. Once you have done the recipe a couple of times, you will know how stiff it should be. I find it takes me about 1/2 hour to mix all the sugar in, and it is very slow incorporating towards the end. Hope that helps. Lisa

DakotaDesigns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DakotaDesigns Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 7:01pm
post #4 of 15

I've found that making MMF is not a measured science. Just yesterday I whipped out almost 20 lbs in different flavors and colors in about two hours. What works easiest for me is making smaller batches of colors I need versus one big batch of white. This works great if you do a lot of small figures and shapes. Beware of adding too much color, I've learned that's one of the reasons for the leathery 'elephant' skin look that fondant can produce.