Satin Ice Question

Decorating By babycakes73 Updated 14 Oct 2009 , 2:28pm by FierceConfections

babycakes73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
babycakes73 Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 2:47am
post #1 of 6

I am just wondering how this satin ice product is to work with. I have never used it before and will be using for a cake I am making for a friend.
I used to make my own MMF but it is very unpredictable, in that it would work well on one cake, but horrible on the next and can be a pain and mess to make. So I thought I would give Satin Ice a try.
I would like to hear about others experiences with this fondant product.
Thanks.

5 replies
Rylan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rylan Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 3:01am
post #2 of 6

Satin Ice is used by many people here on CC. I personally like the consistency and texture of the fondant although it isn't consistent batch by batch (sometimes I get soft, sometimes firm).

I'd still use Satin Ice--just not fan of the taste.

KTcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KTcakes Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 3:13am
post #3 of 6

I have had good success with Satin Ice and it is much less messy MMF. The taste isn't good or bad I would say. More edible than Wilton by far but not as good as MMF. All in all, I like to use Satin Ice when I know I don't have or don't want to take the time to make my own.

FierceConfections Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FierceConfections Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 12:50pm
post #4 of 6

I used to make my own fondant (Michele Foster's recipe), but it got to be really tedious. When I made the switch to Satin Ice, I was really pleased. For the most part, the fondant is consistent in texture, and the taste is similar to homemade. The only things I don't like about Satin Ice are the smell (kind of chemically), and how it acts in humidity - it can get really soft, really quickly!

All in all, though, I highly recommend it.

babycakes73 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
babycakes73 Posted 14 Oct 2009 , 2:17pm
post #5 of 6