Mmf Cracks?

Decorating By alykat3392 Updated 14 Oct 2009 , 3:50am by cakesrock

alykat3392 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alykat3392 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 7:33pm
post #1 of 5

hi i am new to this, i have tried the marshmellow fondant twice and everytime i lay it acros my cake after a few min it looks like it gets little crack, not even cracks bc its not hard but little crack looking indents, is it something i did when making the fondant?i use 16 oz marsh and 2lb conf sugar. im trying to practice to make perfect for my best friends baby shower icon_smile.gif

4 replies
Lauren251 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauren251 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 7:42pm
post #2 of 5

Try when you are kneading it, knead in a little crisco with it. This will make the mmf more pliable and it should help get rid of the cracks. This will also make it a little bit easier to work with. Just dont add to much a little goes a long way.

I only use marshmellow fondant and it seems to work for me icon_smile.gif

I have also recently added a little bit of crisco in when i was making the fondant.

Hope this helps icon_smile.gif

alykat3392 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alykat3392 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 7:48pm
post #3 of 5

well i do grease the counter and my hands w the crisco, should i add some more into the actual mixture?

Lauren251 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lauren251 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 8:07pm
post #4 of 5

When i first started making mmf i just used the crisco to grease my hands and counters, but the last few times ive made it i probably added about 1/4 a stick to the mixture while making it. When I go to knead it, its a little bit easier to knead and it comes out to the texture I want.