Finally Taking The Plunge!!! Did You....?

Business By CakeInfatuation Updated 13 Oct 2009 , 11:05pm by sweetartbakery

CakeInfatuation Posted 12 Oct 2009 , 10:28pm
post #1 of 7

For those of you who have a home based cake shop, did you do a business plan when you got your license or did you just gradually transition over from hobby to business?

If you did put together a business plan, did you get any help from the Small Business Administration or just wing it?

Anyone willing to share their home based business plan?

Thank You!!!

6 replies
sweetartbakery Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 1:50pm
post #2 of 7

HI! My first time entering this forum because I need some friendly support and opinions on scaling up myself. I have an official home bakery now. I was inspected and its fully legal. I did not make a formal plan or hire lawyers though. I guess I took the "wing it" approach. Now that I'm getting more business and the level of loathing is increasing with my real job (I'm a chemist by trade), I want to open a shop. I have done well with out anything formal. Mostly word of mouth to get clients. I also joined some free sites to get my name out (like bridal forums and craigs list).

indydebi Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 2:13pm
post #3 of 7

I wrote a biz plan because the banks required a biz plan. I had a CPA and an orgz that works with folks like me to review, critique and help write biz plans. it's a SUPER exercise that everyone really should go thru.

sweetartbakery Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 5:44pm
post #4 of 7

indy- mind saying how much all that advice cost you? because I want to scale up, i'm thinking of getting more formal contracts and applying for funding. I wonder what i should budget for pro advice

Ruth0209 Posted 13 Oct 2009 , 6:00pm
post #5 of 7