I Need Help-Not Sure I Can Do This

Decorating By creatingcakes Updated 12 Oct 2009 , 8:55pm by BakingGirl

creatingcakes Posted 11 Oct 2009 , 1:19pm
post #1 of 38

Okay, so I have a bride that wants her 4 tier cake to be covered in Cream cheese icing, no fondant, and wants this design on the picture I am attaching below. I have several issues, first, I don't ever work on cream cheese icing, will it work with black fondant on it, and what is the best way to smooth it? My second problem is the design itself. I have no idea how to duplicate that design, is there some kind of cutter that I can use, or a template? I am fairly new at this and am afraid I have bitten off more than I can chew on this cake, Can somebody help me please???? I want to exhaust every option before I have to tell her I can't do it icon_redface.gif

TIA for ANY help!
LL

37 replies
Caths_Cakes Posted 11 Oct 2009 , 2:23pm
post #2 of 38

I dont think its fondant. I think its piped. to me it seems to intracit to be fondant. Other than that, i have no idea about cheese frosting, hopefully some one else can u fill you n on that one

kelleym Posted 11 Oct 2009 , 2:40pm
post #3 of 38

Me personally - I would refuse to do this cake in anything but fondant. Even if you are very, very skilled, it won't look the same as the picture, and the bride will be upset.

As the architects of the cake, we have the right to tell these people "No, that won't work."

leah_s Posted 11 Oct 2009 , 2:47pm
post #4 of 38

I have 10 yeas experience exclusively making wedding cakes. I'm culinary school trained. I would not attempt that cake in cream cheese frosting. In fact I used it once. Once. Never again.

That design may be cutters and piping combined. I recognize several cutters shapes that I have in my drawer, but I will tell you I have *lots* of cutters. Some of those shapes are double cuts.

sugarMomma Posted 11 Oct 2009 , 2:52pm
post #5 of 38