Gluten-Free Undecorated Cakes

Business By Steph2325 Updated 13 Oct 2009 , 3:30am by HarleyDee

Steph2325 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Steph2325 Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 7:53pm
post #1 of 5

Hi all,

I am a specialty baker and I make only those cakes that are geared towards food allergies/intolerances. I'm the only specialty bakery in my city. This morning I had another baker leave a message asking if I'll sell her gluten-free cakes for her to decorate for her customers.

1) I've only been baking specialty cakes for 2 months now (I've done regular cakes for a few years, and I don't do those anymore) and I was planning on getting a good share of loyal customers before other bakers catch on and want in on the action. icon_smile.gif

2) If the cake decorator isn't very knowledgeable about food allergies and messes it up, I'm afraid I could be held liable even though my part was safe. I feel responsible for the end customer.

3) My husband says #2 is because I'm a Democrat. Someone please explain this logic to me. icon_confused.gif

4) How much to charge? Half of a decorated cake? DUH...Can't seem to figure this one out.

Thanks so much for your insight!
Stephanie

4 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 8:01pm
post #2 of 5

Your husband is full of it.

I wouldn't do it. If you bake with wheat flour often (which I am assuming the other baker does) it is always in the air, and that other baker can no longer guarantee a gluten-free cake.

besides, your specialty cakes won't be so special anymore if people can get them just anywhere!

sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 8:14pm
post #3 of 5

I don't think I'd be doing it either. If you're trying to build up your business then you want those customers to come to you, not the other baker/decorator who wants your cakes.