How To Start A Cake Decorating Business In New York State

Business By Tonias_Sweet_Shoppe_09 Updated 10 Oct 2009 , 2:52pm by cutthecake

Tonias_Sweet_Shoppe_09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tonias_Sweet_Shoppe_09 Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 5:51am
post #1 of 8

Hi, I have been decorating cakes for 5 years and just this year started selling cakes to friends and family and neighbors. Now I would like to start doing wedding cakes and bringing cakes to wedding banquets. I have heard that you need to have a separate kitchen or you need to go to the church kitchen or VFW hall kitchen to bake your cakes. Both of these options are impossible for me. I am a stay at home mom of 3 kids ages 5, 4 and 1.

There is no way we would make mods to our kitchen just to satisfy this need. At least my husband would never agree to it in our current house. Maybe our future house, yes, but not this one. Also, there is no way I could just up and go to another place to bake. I have my kids to think about. I can't be dragging them to kitchens to bake.

I just want a Monroe County certification or a Wayne county certification that I can show

BUT I know that many people do this without a license. But what do they do if they get caught and the bride is without a cake??? I really don't want that to happen to me!!
Thanks for any advice.
Tonia

7 replies
SugarFiend Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFiend Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 11:36am
post #2 of 8

Hi Tonia! I too, am in NYS, looking to go legal. And also a SAHM of 3, ages 5, almost 2, and almost 2 (twins). I know there's a sticky at the top of this forum that lists states that will license home kitchens, and I don't think NYS is included. BUT...