Airbrush???

Business By TheBaketress Updated 11 Oct 2009 , 6:32am by miny

TheBaketress Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TheBaketress Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 1:26am
post #1 of 9

ok so my hubbi wants me to FINALLY get an airbrush and compressor!!!! YAY!!! now... can i use any compressor and airbrush or does it have to be specific to food decorating? and does anyone have any grea sites to look? Also... where can i get the colors?

on a side note... in my previous life (before hubbi and kid) I was a big time makeup artist and used to airbrush makeup. if anyone has done that r there any similarities with technique and such???

TIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 1:57am
post #2 of 9

I can only say that I have a double action Paasche airbrush and an Iwata compressor and I like both.

kramzc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kramzc Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 2:52am
post #3 of 9

What about the kopykat airbrush alot of chefs in my area have recommended it?

littlecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
littlecake Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 4:19am
post #4 of 9

i love the paache too

miny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miny Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 4:43am
post #5 of 9

I have a kopykake and it's really good, I got the colors there too. Now about the technique I'm pretty sure it's the same as with make up ; )

cakesbyk2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesbyk2 Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 4:44am
post #6 of 9

I am a newbie and I bought the kopykake and have really enjoyed it.

cakefairy03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakefairy03 Posted 10 Oct 2009 , 3:37pm
post #7 of 9

Not sure if you're looking to buy an expensive, highly used airbrush, or just a smaller, cheaper one for occasional use. But someone else just posted about a $50 airbrush on ebay. Here's the forum discussion:
http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-654481-airbrush.html

-Tubbs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile