First Consultation....need Help/advice!

Decorating By SimplyIced Updated 8 Oct 2009 , 9:10pm by sweetneice

SimplyIced Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SimplyIced Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 7:10pm
post #1 of 5

Hello CC'ers! Fairly new to this baking for business stuff, but I'm learning as I go. Thank GOD for CC!!!

I just had a request for my first wedding cake tasting/consultation. I'm excited about it, but scared at the same time. I've done one wedding cake and that was for a friend of mine! How do I go about doing this tasting? What do I use for the samples, how many samples, what do I need to take with me, etc. ANY advice on this would be much appreciated!!!

I'm so excited...yet SO SCARED!!!

4 replies
Ladybug09 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ladybug09 Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 7:59pm
post #2 of 5

I'm very new at this, like you but we had our first wedding cake consult/tasting, the end of August. The wedding is next weekend. We actually asked the wedding planner if the B & G had any flavors in mind & they advised exactly what they wanted to taste, so that was a huge help. We frosted them lightly with buttercream & gave them a small sample of the fondant. Only did the fondant sample b/c they were on the fence.
Have you asked if they have something in mind?
Also we limited to 3 flavors, otherwise, you could potentially have some say they want to taste 5 or 6 different flavors. I went on several websites, including this one, to come up with a contract & had it reviewed by a legal eagle. If you can find some sample contracts, then you can probably put together little pieces from a few of them & that will give you an idea of items you need to discuss.

I'm sure I'm missing a lot but the more experienced CC'ers will chime in. Good luck!!

brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 8 Oct 2009 , 8:12pm
post #3 of 5