Cake Dummy Help

Decorating By cksweets Updated 7 Oct 2009 , 1:07pm by meri1028

cksweets Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cksweets Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 2:56pm
post #1 of 15

YAY! My cake dummies just came in!

Now, I need to find the forum for the instructions on how to best cover and decorate the cakes. I have my ideas and designs all together. Just wondering...cover w/saran wrap? buttercream? I want to use fondant as my finished product. Please direct me to the forum already in use or answer my questions if possible.

I truly appreciate any help as I am a newbie who LOVES DECORATING!

Thanks for your time!
Christi

14 replies
Lenette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lenette Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 3:12pm
post #2 of 15

If you are going to use fondant just use the fondant. Moisten the dummy with a little water and cover as usual. That's all I do.

What ever you do DO NOT use piping gel. I learned that the hard way and had dummies I couldn't re-use.

Have fun making your displays! icon_smile.gif

cksweets Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 3:28pm
post #3 of 15

thanks Lenette!

i read somewhere where you have to use saran wrap or you can't reuse the stryofoam dummies. is this true? i don't want to do something that i can't take off. have you been able to reuse your dummies by just using water?

thanks again for all your help!

onlymadaresane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
onlymadaresane Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 3:31pm
post #4 of 15

My instructor uses crisco on the base...then applies fondant. She says when you're done water to rinse it off.

cksweets Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 3:36pm
post #5 of 15

thanks onlymadaresane. i truly appreciate your advice!

Lenette Posted 6 Oct 2009 , 3:58pm
post #6 of 15

Sure, I re-use my dummies all the time! Well, after the piping gel incident. icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif