Using Wilton Cake Release

Decorating By electricstrwbrry Updated 5 Oct 2009 , 4:14pm by chelleb1974

electricstrwbrry Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
electricstrwbrry Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 6:48pm
post #1 of 15

Hi there, I should start off by saying I am new to the world of decorating and baking. I have baked some but not a tonne. I figured I wanted to try my hand at cake decorating and the likes so here I am icon_smile.gif I bought a bunch of supplies from a lady who took the Wiltons Decorating courses and decided it wasn't her cup of tea so I now have all these goodies icon_biggrin.gif.

I have non-stick 9" round cake pans that say only to grease the bottom (not the sides) but the instructions on the Cake Release product say to do the whole pan....which do I do?

Thanks so much!

Teresa

14 replies
CakeRx Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRx Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 7:04pm
post #2 of 15

Hi! We've all been in this boat; use your Cake Release on the whole pan. When doing other than character pans, line the bottom and sides with parchment paper. I know a lot of CCers don't paper their sides, but I sometimes have problems with cake sticking when I don't. I NEVER have cake release problems with parchment paper.

CristyInMiami Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CristyInMiami Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 7:05pm
post #3 of 15

Hi! I usually grease the whole thing! That way it doesnt stick when it grows,

Also, instead of buying the wilton cake release I use CRISCO. Same thing and gets the job done right... without paying for the WILTON name on it. icon_surprised.gif)_

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 7:12pm
post #4 of 15

the WILTON cake release is a great product. our c/c queen of buttercream uses it all the time. sharon zimito.. anything in the WILTON aisle is cheaper that in grocery store... i use my coupons...

cakesrock Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakesrock Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 8:04pm
post #5 of 15