Gluten/casein-Free Question ...

Decorating By emiyeric Updated 7 Oct 2009 , 9:25pm by emiyeric

emiyeric Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emiyeric Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 10:54pm
post #1 of 7

Hey guys,

So, I'm doing my little girl's birthday party in a couple of weeks, and one of her little friends is mild on the autism spectrum, and his mom is very careful about a gluten/casein-free diet. She very sweetly asked me what color cake and what kinds of treats I would be serving so that she could bring something similar for her son to eat so he wouldn't feel left out. Still, I feel bad not having anything as an option for him. I'm a doctor, so you'd think I'd have given this more thought, but I've never actually been in a caking situation with this diet before ... I usually work with Sugarshack's icing, a WASC variation of cake, and fondant. What are my options for offering at least one of the cakes (I'm planning on makins several tiers) so he can have some? Or should I just not worry about it, since his mom very readily offered to bring her own food for him?

6 replies
sadsmile Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sadsmile Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 11:13pm
post #2 of 7

Unless you list out for her all the ingredients in all the products or tell her all products so she can check the ingredients then she probably will feel better bringing her own. You'd pretty much have to bake Vegan and gluten free.

foxymomma521 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
foxymomma521 Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 11:35pm
post #3 of 7

sugarshack's icing would be okay... SatinIce is gluten free, but I don't know if there is any dairy... I'm GF myself and really like Pamelas GF chocolate cake...

jonahsmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jonahsmom Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 12:33am
post #4 of 7

Sugarshack's icing won't work if you use creamer in it. Even the non-dairy creamer contains casein.