Novice Here And I Need Help Making Red And Black Buttercream

Decorating By luvmygirl Updated 6 Oct 2009 , 2:06am by milkmaid42

luvmygirl Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 10:36pm
post #1 of 9

Can you tell me step by step how to get these colors-
I have never had any luck and I remember you need to start these colors days ahead so I will be ready now.

Make a white buttercream?

How to get black? How to get red?

Thanks so much! I am making a penguin cake for my daughters b'day
just the actual penguins will have small amounts of red, black and white!

8 replies
sweetcravings Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 9

For red buttercream i would advise using americolor super red, it gives a nice red and uses much less than lets say wilton red. You could use a whole bottle of that stuff and still come out pink.
Black..start with either chocolate buttercream, or tint the icing brown to start then go add the black. Again, i use americolor super black..love the stuff. HTH

Cakepro Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 2:39am
post #3 of 9

LOL, you don't need to start days ahead to make black or red buttercream! I have always used Americolors with fantastic (and instant) results, but recently tried Chefmaster with equally excellent results. Wilton colors are definitely NOT the best, although they will work if that's all you have and you add about the whole bottle.

cabecakes Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 4:19am
post #4 of 9

I ditto what sweet cravings said. Especially about the black. My daughter made penguins for her fair cake, and she got the black by using chocolate marshmallow fondant and then adding the black to it.

BakeLoveMom Posted 4 Oct 2009 , 4:37am
post #5 of 9