Using Bowls To Bake A Cake

Decorating By agentdorkfish Updated 3 Oct 2009 , 3:38pm by FACSlady

agentdorkfish Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 2:10am
post #1 of 15

For Halloween, I was wanting to make a cake with a Jack-o-Lantern sitting on top. I have heard that you can make cakes using Pyrex glass bowls. Y'all are the experts, so tell me if this is a good idea of a bad idea. My thinking is that I make two cakes with the bowls and use that for the Jack-o-Lantern, frost it then cover it with fondant. How stable would that be? Would it even work? I've never done anything like this before!

14 replies
sadsmile Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 2:16am
post #2 of 15

A nice and sturdy Pound Cake would!

catlharper Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 2:27am
post #3 of 15

Ok, I have done this...used Pyrex, I mean. I'm using it twice in the next week, in fact. However, this is not the best way to make a Jack o Lantern cake...a bundt pan used twice to make the two halves of the pumpkin works great! You end up with a very realistic looking pumpkin. A pyrex tends to be a little too slanted...more like a bee hive than a pumpkin. I will be using two stacked one upside down on the other for a honey pot in you can get an idea of what two together would look like. Now if your bowls are more rounded and not so flattened or tapered then they would look good for a pumpkin. Let us know what you end up with!

agentdorkfish Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 2:35am
post #4 of 15

My brother's fiance was telling me that she has used a bundt pan to make a pumpkin before. The only thing is, I didn't really want it to be that big, because it's going to be sitting on top of a two-layer round cake. Or at least that's the plan for now.

I'm entering my very first cake decorating contest. (It's nothing big, just a small town thing) It's on the 24th, so I have time to practice and perfect it. (My nephews and nieces are going to love that I'm practicing because they get the cakes!) icon_smile.gif

sadsmile Posted 3 Oct 2009 , 2:40am
post #5 of 15