Help With Fondant? Please?

Decorating By RebeccaAnn Updated 1 Oct 2009 , 1:57pm by -Tubbs

RebeccaAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebeccaAnn Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 1:41am
post #1 of 12

Hi! i'm new to fondant, and i have used it to make some cakes - but for my next cake i want to cover the entire cake in fondant to make it crisp and clean. My problem is the fondant i have (plain white) tastes awful! Is there any way to flavor it?

P.S, I tried using vanilla extract but it made the fondant gooey icon_sad.gif

11 replies
xstitcher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
xstitcher Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 1:50am
post #2 of 12

Are you using the Wilton fondant? If so I don't think there is much you can do for the nasty taste. icon_biggrin.gif

You could always try making homemade like MFF or MMF (I personally prefer MFF more, especially when white chocolate is added to it).

If you want to go with commercially made fondant I'd just try them out until you find one you like. Here are just a few that I can think of off the top of my head:

Satin Ice
Chocopan
PettinIce
Fondarific
Fondx

I've only personally tried Satin Ice and I like it too. I know that Chocopan you can buy sample's (6 flavours 3 oz each) to try them out and it only costs $1 plus shipping. Check there website.

Hope that helps.

Cakeonista Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeonista Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 1:53am
post #3 of 12

MMf is very very easy to make, its jut some marshmallow and powdered sugar. The recipe is here on cc and you will love the taste. You can also add extract of your choice if you want to. Rolls out and covers very nicely also.

RebeccaAnn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
RebeccaAnn Posted 1 Oct 2009 , 1:54am
post #4 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xstitcher

Are you using the Wilton fondant? If so I don't think there is much you can do for the nasty taste. icon_biggrin.gif