Sewing Machine Cake

Decorating By sweetbitescakes Updated 21 Jan 2014 , 4:11am by mena2002

sweetbitescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetbitescakes Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:48pm
post #1 of 12

Hi, I am new to cake central, and only hope I am doing this right... I posted a photo of a sewing machine cake that I made 3 weeks ago, the response has been very encouraging! It's nice to know there are others out there who are as obsessed with cake as I am.

I have had a lot of requests for instructions and only wish I'd thought to take photos at the different stages of construction. I hope explaining how I did it and adding a couple of pics as visual aids is sufficient.

Days before the cake had to be put together, I made the pins, cottons, screws, machine foot, buttons, silver thread holders and hand wheel out of flowerpaste. The wheel had to be supported on a saucer to get the shape. I taped (florist tape) 4 wires together (as in parts pic) they went through the wheel and were covered with a silver circle. So they weren't seen. this allowed the wheel to be pushed into the cake just above the support board. I suppose very firm royal icing would have held it in place but wasn't prepared to risk it.

I borowed an old machine off my father-in-law. I was careful to have the cake be an exact replica size wise. My father-in-law then kindly cut me a wooden support the exact shape of the cross bar of the machine. He also made dowels cut to size and put holes into the support board for the dowels to slot into. I covered the support board with cake paper as cake was going directly onto it. The twin thin dowels I painted with silver food dust mixed with vodka. They became the needle and foot part of the machine.