First Time Making Mmf, Have Some Questions

Decorating By Cakeycup Updated 30 Sep 2009 , 12:54pm by Loucinda

Cakeycup Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakeycup Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:24pm
post #1 of 6

Hello all!

I'm new to cake decorating. I made my first batch of MMF last night and I just had some questions.

First, I may have made a mistake by using big marshmallows rather than mini ones. The grocery store didn't have any and I figured that they were both 250g that it wouldn't make a difference. So I made it in the microwave with the 2 tb of water and then 4 cups of PS. Last night it seemed a bit sticky and really soft. It wouldn't hold it's shape. I thought that it might be because it was warm so I wrapped it up and put it in the fridge.
Tonight when I took it out to colour it, it was still really sticky and wasn't holding any shape. I coloured what I needed and left a little piece out to play with. I added lots more PS and that seemed to make it more workable but won't that dry it out? Should I add a bunch of PS before I actually decorate the cupcakes? Also, to keep it from sticking to my hands I kept adding more shortening. Will that affect the taste?

Also, I have to travel with them in the car on Friday. I plan on making everything on Thursday night. Would they be alright if I put them in a cupcake box (just a cardboard one) overnight and then drive with them until about 4pm the next day?

Sorry for my extremely long post. I hope someone can decipher what I'm trying to say. icon_smile.gif

5 replies
d3sc3n7 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
d3sc3n7 Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:51pm
post #2 of 6

Ok...I think I have a handle on what your asking.

MMF can be a little tricky sometimes. I dont see why the large ones wouldnt work out for you, so done see an issue there.