Is 6" Too Tall?

Decorating By audrey0522 Updated 3 Oct 2009 , 1:13am by sadsmile

audrey0522 Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 9:52pm
post #1 of 11

I am making my daughter's wedding cake it will be 6", 10", 14", and 18" tiers (bottom is a dummy tier) I made each layer 3 inches tall since my pans are 3". They are in the freezer! This will make 6" tiers. (before fondant) The dummy tier will be 5" (before fondant) Is this too tall for the tiers? Will it look out of proportion? I'm not good at cutting the cake level so I was thinking if the tiers would look better at 5", I could trim one layer of each tier to 2 inches instead of trimming 1/2 inch off each layer. If it does not look out of proportion I would like to leave it at 6". I am going to put a ribbon (real) around the bottom of each tier and then a 8mm bead border. I am not sure what size ribbon to use with such a tall cake. I hope the height is not to big for the 8 mm bead. It is the only size bead mold I have and there is no time to order anything else. The 12 mm bead mold looked so large. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Since I am a hobby baker the "client" doesn't really have much of a say in what I give them, so I just do what I think looks best. ( : Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!

10 replies
sweetcravings Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 11:56pm
post #2 of 11

I always worry about making a tier too high, simply because something so tall won't fit on an average dessert plate. I've made a tier with two 2" cakes, torted and iced and they probably came pretty close to that 6" mark with all the fillling etc...they just barely fit on the plate. I would probably make it shorter next time by either reducing the layers i torte or just torting one 2".

audrey0522 Posted 30 Sep 2009 , 1:23am
post #3 of 11