How Do You Get "clean" Looking Fondant?

Decorating By meri1028 Updated 15 Oct 2009 , 2:04am by Sweet_Guys

meri1028 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meri1028 Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:05pm
post #1 of 32

I was wondering if anyone could offer any tips on getting their fondant clean & sharp looking? I don't think my fondant is bad, but I would like to perfect my fondant work & get my clean lines & work. I realize it would come with more practice and I know a sharp, solid, & stable cake helps a ton. Ive switched from buttercream as a base to ganache & I've seen a huge improvement, but any other tips would be awesome!

Thanks in advanced!

31 replies
Barb1959 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Barb1959 Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:09pm
post #2 of 32

I am very new at this and I see you said you switched from buttercream to ganach as a base. Do you mean for the crumb coat, do you mean for the filling. I have done a few and have had limited success. I can always see the filling lines on the side through the fondant (like a bump around the cake). Any advice you have would be appreciated.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:13pm
post #3 of 32

when you say "clean", do you mean no p.sugar splotches from when you roll it out, or clean as in super smooth with sharp edges/corners?

meri1028 Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:26pm
post #4 of 32

Barb, I meant ganache as a crumb coat. I dont' get bulges with it once its set and I get sharper corners.

Indydebi, I mean all those things you said. I think I could get my corners sharper. But in general, I look at your cakes & other professional cakes & the fondant work just looks so professional. I guess I'm having a hard time describing what I'm looking for. icon_confused.gif

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:35pm
post #5 of 32

well, I'm the fondant newbie around here but I'll share what I've encountered.