Recommended Icing/ Cream Recipes?

Baking By bethangradford Updated 30 Sep 2009 , 6:22am by JanH

bethangradford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bethangradford Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 10:51am
post #1 of 4

I'd love some tried/ tested and loved recipes for certain parts of cake decorating.

1.The buttercream filling that doesn't ooze out of the sides

2.The cream or icing that spreads all over a cake before fondant icing
(not sure whether this stuff is the same as the buttercream filling!?)

3. Frosting that can be used for piping and decorating

Think that's it......

oooo does the frosting used to decorate with dry hard or stay soft and how long after the cake is covered and filled with cream/frosting should it be eaten??

I'm a beginner so sorry for all the questions!!

any help appreciated thankoo!

xxxx

3 replies
kitcae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kitcae Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 3:27pm
post #2 of 4

Well my most used frosting is Wilton Class Buttercream.I've never tried it for under fondant (it will work). I use it for covering my cakes and decorating.It works for filling cakes if you use a tip #12 around the edge.I would eat it within 3 days (covered).It's humid here where I live and it takes a while to harden. It won't get super hard,just crisp. You can get meringue powder at Michal's. Here's the recipeicon_sad.gifStiff consistency)

1 cup solid white vegetable shortening
1 teaspoon Wilton Flavor(Vanilla,Almond or Butter)
2 tablespoons milk or water
1lb. pure cane confectioner's sugar (approximately 4 cups)
1 tablespoon Wilton Meringue Powder
A pinch of salt(optional)

Cream shortening, flavor and water. Add dry ingredients and mix on medium speed until all ingredients have been thoroughly mixed together. Blend an additional minute or so, until creamy.