Modeling Chocolate/fondant - Buy Or Make It Yourself?

Decorating By icalise Updated 29 Sep 2009 , 6:09pm by icalise

icalise Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icalise Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 1:16am
post #1 of 4

HI:
I'm new to cake decorating and to CC. I'm scheduled to take a class on 3D carving. On the supply list is modeling chocolate. I saw on some posts on here some recipes for making your own modeling chocolate. I'm afraid to chose the wrong one for the class, since I will be using it for the first time and I want to get the most out of the class by having all the correct supplies. Is there a difference between the different types? Would you suggest buying or making it yourself?

Fondant - I was taught with the wilton fondant in the wilton courses. I once tried making my own with marshmallows and I could not work with it at all. It was the same texture as gumpaste that sat out a little, before you strech it and work it. Except with this fontant, no matter how much I tried to fold it etc... the texture stayed the same. I took it to class and my instructer was determined to make it work and could not. Someone else in the class brought the marshmallow fondant that day and she had a similar problem to mine. I would love to make my own and save some money but since I'm new, I do need something that is easy to work with. What do you guys suggest?

Thank you,
Ines

3 replies
playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:02am
post #2 of 4

Make it yourself.

It's easy to make and inexpensive. The prices I've seen on pre-made modeling chocolate are outrageous compared to the price when you make it yourself, even if you use a high-end chocolate in the recipe.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

catlharper Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
catlharper Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 2:22am
post #3 of 4