Wedding Vs. Party Pieces Pricing

Decorating By mrsclox Updated 29 Sep 2009 , 10:08pm by SugarFrosted

mrsclox Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsclox Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 12:45am
post #1 of 21

Here's a question for you...I was just looking at some serving and cutting guides. The wedding servings were 1x2x4 and party were 2x2x4. If I'm making a cake that is just a celebration cake (not wedding) should I charge them based on 2x2x4" servings? For example, a 12" round will serve 56 wedding pieces and 28 party pieces. If I'm making a celebration cake at $3.00 a serving, do I charge $168 or $84? I personally think 2x2x4 is too big. Can you tell I'm new at this?

20 replies
jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 12:49am
post #2 of 21

I use the wedding chart for every cake I do.

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 1:01am
post #3 of 21

You begin with the knowledge that each cake will be X number of wedding size servings. You charge using that number and you tell the client that is how many industry standard servings available in that size cake. You also tell the client if they want bigger servings, then they need to order more cake.

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 1:02am
post #4 of 21

Most people follow the wedding chart. Don't describe the serving sizes to your customers as "wedding" or "party", just say that the serving is 1x2x4. Some people will have a block of wood cut to the standard serving size as an example...that way the customer will know if that's the serving size they want, or if they need to order a bigger cake.

I think party cakes are getting a lot fancier than they used to be and it doesn't make sense to charge half as much just because it's going to a party and not a wedding.

costumeczar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
costumeczar Posted 29 Sep 2009 , 1:07am
post #5 of 21

I use the 1x2x4 for every cake.