Edible....not Edible

Decorating By bethangradford Updated 30 Sep 2009 , 9:34am by Melnick

bethangradford Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 10:06am
post #1 of 15

hi!
I'm brand new to cake decorating and always assumed decorated and sculpted cakes and sugarpaste etc are all edible but looking into decorating iv'e found some cakes have wooden dowels in them, caracters have toothpicks or dry spagettii supporting them and the coloured dusts used to paint are inedible!
I'm just a bit confused! wouldn't people buy cakes assuming they could eat decorations seeing as they are made out of sugarpaste!?!? Do you tell the customers you can eat the birds but not the people!!
i don't understand why make decorations out of edible material and them put inedible materials in or on them. especially seeing tiered cakes with poles through the centres of them.
I'm probably being really silly! but i'd love some advice about all this!
thankoo!
x Embarassed

14 replies
sugarandslice Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 10:29am
post #2 of 15

On a tiered cake you must use wooden dowels (or similar) for support otherwise the top cake will sink into the one below it. You remove them before or as you cut the cake.
As for gumpaste figures (and I don't have a lot of experience here!) they do sometimes need internal support, otherwise they won't hold up. As for eating them, I find gumpaste really unpalatable even though it's technically edible so I don't know why anyone would want to eat the figures, flowers etc
No need to be embarrassed. We all started out knowing nothing and this is definitely the best place to learn.
HTH
Emma

MikeRowesHunny Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 11:40am
post #3 of 15

Agree with the PP, you MUST use supports in tiered cakes or you are headed for potential disaster. If my figures and so on have inedible things in them , I just tell the client that. Gumpaste is gross to eat anyway IMO, plus lots of folk like to remove the figures and have them as a keepsake.

Cakechick123 Posted 28 Sep 2009 , 12:12pm