I Had To Slam On My Brakes!!

Decorating By MrsLev557 Updated 29 Sep 2009 , 3:06am by letsgetcaking

MrsLev557 Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 3:31am
post #1 of 17

I am just a hobby baker, making them for friends and family for gifts. I was delivering the cake when someone pulled right out in front of me. I had to slam on my brakes not to hit them, Thank God I did not !! I did not even have to look, I knew the cake was smashed and it was. the top piece came down and smashed the entire side of the bottom cake.

I worked on this cake for 2 days, square cakes are so hard to look straight and with them being blocks, it made it even harder. The bottom was 8 inch block and top was a 5 inch. For the bottom I did two 4inch high cakes, stacked them with wooden dowels, and iced it as one big cake. I doweled the top block as well. I thought it seemed sturdy.

The family was so nice about it, I was a crying mess when I got there I was only about 2 miles away. Thankfully I did take pictures, they did cut and serve it.. looking back I wish I would have taken a picture of it smashed.

Thanks for listening... here is the before picture

Safe Driving
Shirl

http://cakecentral.com/modules.php?name=gallery&file=displayimage&pid=1472691

16 replies
step0nmi Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 3:35am
post #2 of 17

awwww...i'm so sorry! *hugs* to you! I feel your pain since I recently went through a disaster myself...almost dropping a wedding cake icon_razz.gif but they sound so nice and at least you were ok! keep your chin up! you do beautiful work icon_smile.gif

susgene Posted 27 Sep 2009 , 1:03pm
post #3 of 17

Oh I'm so sorry! The cake was beautiful!

I did the same thing myself with a cruise ship cake. Someone pulling out in front of me... The cake was in the trunk but I knew it couldn't have survived totally. I was devasted but my friend was so nice about it. We just laugh (kind of) now and call it the Titanic!