Writting

Decorating By nikki1273 Updated 29 Sep 2009 , 4:42pm by kansaswolf

nikki1273 Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 7:34pm
post #1 of 11

I am a novice with beautiful handwritting on paper. However, my attempts on cakes has not been very successful. The writting usually ends up slanted up or down and not uniform. Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreicated.

10 replies
dorie67 Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 8:00pm
post #2 of 11

I am with you Nikki1273, compliments all the time about the writting on paper. I have several "cheats" from Wilton, they offer pre-printed stamps ie. Happy Birthday, Congratulations etc., also make your own message stamps. These are rather small in size so they seem to get lost on a large cake. I will leave you with the old "practice makes perfect"! princess.gif

arosstx Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 8:06pm
post #3 of 11

In addition to "writting" you always want to check spelling too. I almost put Presley on a cake - it was supposed to be Preslea - I'd never have guessed that!

indydebi Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 8:50pm
post #4 of 11

I also u se the presses (using them is not "cheating" ... it's using a tool designed for use in our trade, just like spatulas, icing bags, and measuring spoons) because my free lance handwriting is terrible.

Some tricks are to move your whole arm, not just your wrist, like you would with a pen. Thinner icing, so you're not squeezing as hard, making your hand shake. Thicker icing also tends to break in the middle of a letter (ewww, I hate that!). Let gravity do the work ... I dont' draw ON the cake, I hold the bag above the cake and let the icing flow down and fall into place. That one takes some practice but once you get there, it looks SO nice.

poohsmomma Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 11:40pm
post #5 of 11

I happened upon a technique in a book that I can't remember the name of.