Seriously Need Help With This!

Decorating By yamber82 Updated 27 Sep 2009 , 5:37am by yamber82

yamber82 Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 7:06am
post #1 of 8

i have a few customers that always find their designs from pinkcakebox which has some absolutely stunning adn flawless cakes, however, i am a newbie and CANNOT seem to get my cakes nearly as neat looking as theirs icon_sad.gif i just finished my 2nd toprsy turvey and thougth this time around would go better but it has not. the first time i followed the tutorial on here. i covered each tier in fondant and then afterwards i cut out the part fot the next tier. i think the things i did wrong with this cake was that i didn't trim around the edges and i put too thick a coat of bc under the fondant. that was also my first cake for a customer (she knew of course and i didn't charge much) well this time it was actually for the same lady. i assured her i have had much more experience since then and i have. well this time i decided to carve out the top part BEFORE covering each tier in fondant and i think that was a really bad idea. i also used the wilton fondant this time thinking it would be easier. needless to say i have gotton so used to mmf i forgot how crappy the wilton fondant is icon_sad.gif well i am about to post the pic of the cake, but i am not at all pleased with how the shape turned out. i was so disapointed after i covered them and stacked the tiers. why can't i get it right? how do you guys do it?

7 replies
jillangel Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 12:41pm
post #2 of 8

Wow. I just looked at your cakes and they are freakin awesome! Don't even know what to tell you because they look perfect to me. I know we can be hard on ourselves as decorators we see things that others don't but even looking for flaws I'm not seeing them icon_biggrin.gif

jillangel Posted 26 Sep 2009 , 12:41pm
post #3 of 8