You Can Call Me Crazy-But I Want It Sweet & Need Your He

Baking By melrae1 Updated 6 Oct 2009 , 7:24pm by melrae1

melrae1 Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 5:18am
post #1 of 12

Ok I need some opinions from people who like their buttercream sweet!! I am still a newbie, but I have made probably 10 different batches of BC. Some I've used exact recipes on here, some I've added and taken away flavors due to personal preference and experimenting. I've used Crisco, Hi Ratio Shortening, Crisco/Butter, etc. They've all been good, but I feel like they're all missing something! I love icing, to me it's the best part on the cake!! Maybe it's a southern thing, lol, but besides my hubby and dad everyone, including myself, thinks the BC needs to be sweeter! I have always added 2 lbs powdered sugar. I've searched and searched on here and the only thing I could find is BC that's not so sweet. Everyone has their personal taste and preference, mine is sweet!! So any advice would greatly help me. I might be crazy and have to much of sweet tooth! icon_eek.gif I have thought a/b just adding more powdered sugar, but I don't want to make it to thick or mess up the crusting. I've also thought a/b trying some different things to sweeten it up, but I thought I would ask on here first to see if anyone can give me some tips or suggestions!! I would greatly appreciate some help! Thank you!!!!

11 replies
Melnick Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 5:46am
post #2 of 12

I like sweet buttercream too. The recipe I use is - 250g butter, 2 1/2 cups icing sugar and 1/4 milk. If you want it to be a bit more crusting, then use 125g butter, 1 1/2 cups icing sugar and 2 tablespoons milk. Just beat your butter until it's as white as possible, then add half the icing sugar and milk, combine and add the rest of the icing sugar. Delicious! I think the second one might be slightly sweeter.

SugarFrosted Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 6:05am
post #3 of 12