New Here With A Question

Decorating By Rachie204 Updated 25 Sep 2009 , 2:58am by JanH

Rachie204 Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:03am
post #1 of 11

Hi I just joined here. I have been playing with cake decorating for a few years now but have not done anything big yet due to time and partly because I dont really know where to start. I have only done small cakes but would like to do a three tier cake for my daughters first birthday in January. I would like to do a round medium sized three tier and will be covering it in fondant. What inch pans do I need and what depth? Also for the 3 tiers how many cake mixes should I use and how high should I fill each pan. Any help would be appreciated...I want to start practicing now so that I wont freak at the last minute.

10 replies
all4cake Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:21am
post #2 of 11

Welcome!

If you go to the Wilton website, you'll find a chart that tells how much batter for each pan as well as a servings chart for each size pan. You will be able to determine what size pans you'll need by how many guests you're expecting.

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/making-cakes/baking-party-cake-2-inch-pans.cfm

Rachie204 Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:24am
post #3 of 11

thank you...i think i remember seeing that now that you mention it. I am going to check it out. Thanks again!

auntginn Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:24am
post #4 of 11

Yes, that's the best place to go. And I too want to welcome you to the wonderful world of CC and all the fun of learning and growing while here.

Rachie204 Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:25am
post #5 of 11

thank you auntginn.....I am really excited to start picking up the cake decorating where I left off.

all4cake Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:29am
post #6 of 11

...as for the pan depths...I prefer 2"...

Rachie204 Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 5:36am
post #7 of 11

thanks to you both...I checked out that site and that helped alot. Have either of you worked with the Sam's club icing they sell in the 28lb buckets? I was thinking about giving it a try...