Cream Vs. Cream Cheese

Decorating By bbstephan Updated 25 Sep 2009 , 5:03am by Sugarflowers

bbstephan Posted 23 Sep 2009 , 8:31pm
post #1 of 7

Can anyone help me to understand why cream can be used in a homemade fondant recipe and not need refrigeration but cream cheese used in the same manner cannot?

6 replies
JanH Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 6:13am
post #2 of 7

It would depend on the recipe...

Sugar is hygroscopic (water attracting) and binds the water (controls the water activity) in other ingredients if used in sufficient quantitites.

Not being a food scientist, I would refrigerate if the recipe indicated to do so.

HTH

P.S. This is the reason that American buttercreams made with a small quantity of water, milk or cream and a huge amount of powdered sugar do not require refrigeration.

bbstephan Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 2:43pm
post #3 of 7

Thank you for your reply, I appreciate it! I am going to try Michelle Foster's recipe, but use cream cheese instead of cream. That recipe does not need to be refrigerated, and it uses 1/2 cup cream (so I'll use 1/2 cup cream cheese) and almost 4 lbs. of sugar plus 1 cup of corn syrup...

BakingJeannie Posted 24 Sep 2009 , 4:09pm
post #4 of 7

I have a question; how will you dissolve the gelatine?

JanH Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 3:19am
post #5 of 7

Here's a tried and true cream cheese fondant recipe:

http://cakecentral.com/recipes/7060/cream-cheese-base-fondant

HTH

bbstephan Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 4:30am
post #6 of 7

Does this fondant sweat? And, does cream cheese icing underneath it hold up okay?

P.S., I tried disolving the gelatine in warmed cream cheese...didn't work.

Sugarflowers Posted 25 Sep 2009 , 5:03am
post #7 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbstephan