Very Nervous...please Help!

Decorating By Megabot Updated 22 Sep 2009 , 6:32pm by Mark-Mexicano

Megabot Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 5:39pm
post #1 of 7

I'm a novice cake maker and I'm doing my first wedding cake this week. I am planning on doing four tiers covered with fondant, bases wrapped with green ribbon and the top of each tiers covered with cascading gumpaste flowers. Ok so here are my questions...
I wanted to make the gumpaste flowers sparkly, any ideas?
I am really nervous about the drive, should I assemble on site or at home?
I was planning on doing dowels, how many do I need for each layer (12,10,8,6)
Any other help or suggestions with transporting? I've heard of SPS but cant open the file on the link everyone posts and not sure I really understand it. I tried to look for it on a site that sells it but I wasn't sure if I was looking at the correct thing and now I don't know if I have time to get it..

Help please!!!

6 replies
__Jamie__ Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 5:49pm
post #2 of 7

Here is SPS:

And instructions are a sticky at the top of the How Do I forum, posted by Leahs.

Question real quick...are you going to make your tiers 4" tall, like standard wedding cakes (all cake for that matter), cause I notice in your pics, that your cakes look like they are one layer tall, or about 1.5 to 2" tall without the icing.

This is a massive undertaking. Have you done a tiered cake before?

Yes, trasport unstacked if you don't get SPS.

Are you making the GP flowers? You can spray them with an airbrush with pearl sheen, or take a blush brush (new clean and dry) and dust dry sparkly luster dust on them.

I know some more helpful people will come along too. That's all I can tackle at the moment.

tootie0809 Posted 22 Sep 2009 , 5:54pm
post #3 of 7