Unsightly Bulge On Cake

Decorating By krohrs Updated 13 Mar 2011 , 6:18pm by yellowtulips11

krohrs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krohrs Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 8:37pm
post #1 of 28

Please help! I'm new to cake decorating, but I seem to be making the same mistake over and over again!!! Why do my fondant covered layers have a bulge between the layers? I've made 6 cakes and it's the same on every cake. I've moved my frosting dam in from the edge, but I still have this problem. Is there some trick I am missing?????

27 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 8:41pm
post #2 of 28

how long are you letting gravity have it's way with your cakes -- aka let them settle before covering with fondant?

many here let that happen overnight -- a good 8--12 hours.

others hurry the issue by adding a weight on top (ceramic tile or similar) so it happens in 4 or so hours

still others (including me) have no patience to wait and make it happen NOW by pushing down on the cake using a large cookie sheet or similar until the icing bulges out all the way around the cake. After a short recovery time (about the time it takes to fill the icing bag to do the crumb coat) we just work the bulge into the crumb coat and continue on.

luvmysmoother Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luvmysmoother Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 8:46pm
post #3 of 28

Yes I totally agree - I kept having the battle of the bulge many times (always filled, frosted, fondanted all at once in the past) but it seriously makes a huge difference if you wait it out and if you put a weight on it - it helps tooicon_smile.gif

krohrs Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 8:49pm
post #4 of 28

So, I should frost with buttercream and let them set overnight before I cover and decorate with fondant???

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 8:51pm
post #5 of 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by krohrs