Ok I Need Help Decideding On This New Job Offer (Long)

Decorating By krissycupcakes Updated 21 Sep 2009 , 5:53pm by luvmysmoother

krissycupcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
krissycupcakes Posted 20 Sep 2009 , 7:02pm
post #1 of 15

Ok so heres the delema and a lil background info. I used to work as a catering pastery chef i do fondant work for myself i didnt go to school and im curantly unemployeed. now to the job offer its a busy bakery high volume with cakes wedding and party and a small store front italian bakery. there ad was for a baker and cake decorator like 2 differnt people. i go to the interview with all my pictures ready to go she looks at them and tells me im good at the detail work and says it looks great!! and then shes like hows your butter cream skills i told her that there ok i dont do alot of butter cream cakes so im a lil rusty.(being honest!) so then she tells me about 6 times throughout the interview that shes going to give me a day to try decorating she doesnt think that her decorators will think im going to work out so then shell put me in the bakery. (sounds to me that she wants me baking not decorating i dont mind baking but i really wanna decorate) then there was money talk.....she asked what i made catering and i told her this is what i was making and it was a differnt kind of job im looking to make this much and it is a 25% pay cut (but this job is alot less hours) and she told me i would have to work to get there cause shes going to have to train me (train me!!!! no matter who you are starting a new job it should be expected that you need 1-2 weeks to get there style down and learn there ways thats not training!!) so im going in on wed to try decorating!!!! let me know what you think i was really hopeing to get in to my own thing(though i dont have the cash) or get in to a smaller cake shop where they dont do a couple hundred wedding cakes a week!! but i do need a job! what should i do .... what do you think about this interview