Lurker Coming Out Of The Closet And Totally Off Topic

Lounge By micabean Updated 25 Sep 2009 , 12:19pm by MalibuBakinBarbie

micabean Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
micabean Posted 19 Sep 2009 , 8:44pm
post #1 of 16

First let me say that I have nothing but awe for most of you ladies. I am a total newbie ( have decorated just one cake so far) and I have found a wealth of information here. I can't wait to try again. But, my question has to do with stoves. Old Besty is one her last legs and I am about to purchase a new one. I looking at a glass top convection. My question is would you prefer a glass top or burners. I've read pros and cons for both but I figured you ladies might be in a better position to give an honest answer. Any thoughts ??

15 replies
kjt Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kjt Posted 19 Sep 2009 , 9:55pm
post #2 of 16

Hi micabean,
I'm partial to cooking with gas, so I won't be of help, but just want to say welcome to our little family! icon_smile.gif

SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 19 Sep 2009 , 10:01pm
post #3 of 16

Welcome to Cake Central! You will love it here!

If I were to buy a new stove, I'd probably want a glass-top range, with a regular oven, not convection.

With my current stove, I use a half-sheet pan to cover the burners, and most of the time I use it for extra counter space.

I HAVE a convection oven in my kitchen as well as a regular oven, and I hate the convection. In my personal opinion and my personal experience, convection ovens are not the best method for baking cakes. Others here may have different opinions.

But please do a lot of research before you buy anything. Ask a friend if you can borrow his/her convection oven to try it out.

Good Luck! thumbs_up.gif

Jen80 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jen80 Posted 19 Sep 2009 , 11:50pm
post #4 of 16

I miss my glass top stove with electric fan-forced oven!! icon_cry.gif

Does that help? icon_lol.gif